Three former councillors receive Honorary Alderman title

Three former councillors have received the title ‘Honorary Alderman’ for their dedication and service to the authority and its communities at a special ceremony.Rose Bowler receiving the Honorary Alderman title from Council Chair, Councillor Tom Munro

Rose Bowler from Bolsover, Ray Heffer from Tibshelf and Jim Clifton from Elmton-with-Creswell received the honour in view of them each giving over 16 years’ service as an elected member.

Between them these long-serving ex-councillors accumulated over 70 years’ worth of service as elected members and had all played their part in helping to drive forward change at the Council, revitalising their local communities and helping to regenerate the District.

Council Leader, Councillor Steve Fritchley said, “These three former colleagues contributed so much to the District and their local communities during their time as councillors. They dedicated so much of their lives to serving others that we felt this was a fitting tribute to their many years of service.

“All three where huge supporters of the Council and what we have, and are trying to achieve, and on behalf of the Council and local residents, I congratulate them all on their achievement.”

The three councillors all held prestigious positions in the authority ranging from Cabinet Member, Chair of Licensing and Leader of the Opposition and represented the Council on many national organisations.

The title of Honorary Alderman can only be given to non-serving members of the Council who have undertaken 16 plus years’ service as a local elected member.


 01246 242323
 01246 242238
 07772 867113
 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


No specific documents


No specific links